About our name

Why “Three Rivers”?

From 1995 to 2018, Three Rivers Land Trust was known as The Landtrust for Central North Carolina. In 2018, the organization went through a rebranding process, taking on the name “Three Rivers Land Trust-TRLT”. At that time, TRLT operated 10 counties with each of the 10 counties touching one of the region’s major rivers. The three regional rivers were, the Yadkin-Pee Dee, the Uwharrie, and the Rocky.

In 2019, Three Rivers Land Trust merged with the Sandhills Area Land Trust (SALT). At that point, there were more major rivers included in the present 15-county region, but the name “Three Rivers” remains.


Accreditation seal is only awarded to land trusts meeting the highest national standards.

Counties in NC

Acres Protected



(704) 647-0302


204 East Innes Street, Suite 120
Salisbury, NC 28144